Your style's heroes!

12 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@liontable)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Hi there,
I've never been a big music listener until not very long ago. I find this to be quite troublesome when looking for songs to play which I like, especially considering I didn't even like rock before I started playing guitar. With playing I really started getting into it, but I pretty much only know the most famous of the famous and the really popular pop songs. So here I come to you guys:

Show me your greatest artists, in whatever genre you like. I started actually discovering blues since I started playing and have really broadened my interest (from nigh nothing to something). Might be fun to rediscover some dinosaurs you'd forgotten or maybe find some new band you didn't know yet.

Nuno
(@nuno)
Famed Member

Recently I am very interested on jazz (again). I bought some dvd: Pat Metheny and George Benson. And also some cd: Pat Metheny, George Benson, Joe Pass, Wes Montgomery, Kenny Burrell, and also Charlie Parker and Bill Evans.

I already had music from these musicians but it is a good moment to update my collection.

ReplyQuote
 KR2
(@kr2)
Famed Member

I'm an old fogey so I like the early guitar stuff.
Lately, I'm working on this version of All Along the WatchTower . . .
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MSBukyMJ8EM&feature=related

(I think he has his E,A, and D strings wound the wrong way around the tuning peg)

Dave Matthews does another nice version:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f2mW4WBnBnI

It's the rock that gives the stream its music . . . and the stream that gives the rock its roll.

ReplyQuote
(@alangreen)

In the Rock side of my split personality:

I reckon Exhibit A in the debate over the existence of the supreme being has to be Alex Lifeson - still knocking out great material for Rush after not far short of 40 years, and there's a new studio album recorded and penciled in for release in the new year.