Clear all

Silly Amp Question

34 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@bluesy)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hopefully this isn't the wrong place for this question, but feel free to move it if need be.

I'm looking to upgrade my amp in the near future, possible as a birthday present to myself. I'm looking for some guidance on my search as I'm still a complete newb. My thing is the amp I currently have is a bass amp I bought cheep off of a friend who decided he wasn't playing anymore and it only has controls for volume, bass, mid, and treble. I'd like to have some of the basic effects available on many amps that will allow me to play around with the sound a little. Obviously, I'm not looking for killer effects here, but just some basic things I can play around with while I'm learning. I'd also like the amp to be small/portable enough so that if I want to take it to a friends house or something its not very difficult for me to grab by myself. I'm probably looking to stay around $200 or so, but I'm hoping to get something that will work for a general smaller/practice amp for quite awhile so hopefully I can find something in that price range.

I've been looking quite a bit at the Roland Cube amps (possibly the Cube 20X??) as they seem to include many of the basic features I'm looking for at what seems to be a decent price and I've heard great things about them in various places. Any other suggestions or recommendations?? Other thoughts on the subject?

(@corbind)
Noble Member

For just $200, I'd have so say you'll get a sub-par amp. Look to spend $400-600 and get an amp you will grow with. Why do I say that? When I first started playing I bought a bass amp for like $250. It sucked. After playing a few years, I bought a Fender Hod Rod Deluxe for about $500 used. It was the best purchase I ever made.

I know you're on a budget. But you cannot expect to have a good sound for less than $400. If you are reallly tight, buy a Fender Pro Jr. I can't help you more than that.