Clear all

Learn by playing songs

8 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@causnorign)
Honorable Member
Topic starter  

Ok so I'm somewhere between beginner and intermediate by my own standard. I've been messing around with a guitar for several years. I read on one of these learn guitar the best fastest method sites that the quickest way to improve is by playing songs, and not really bothering with theory or learning the fretboard or anything else. I'd like to know who agrees with that.

(@davidhodge)

Hi

I mostly agree with this, except that you can't help but learn a bit of theory and where notes are on the fretboard simply by paying attention to what you're doing. For example, if you're playing an Em chord, you can't help but notice that you're only fretting two strings, so figuring out the notes of an Em chord (E, G, and B) doesn't take all that much effort. Then, realizing that you've got to change the G to G# in order to make E major is an easy step from there.

It's very hard to not learn things about music while you're learning guitar...

Peace

ReplyQuote
(@owenevans)

Little late to the game here but although songs seem to be a good way of learning and they definitely are for learning technique. Make sure you don't just learn a handful of similar bands otherwise you will just end up mimicking them in the long run. Try make sure you get some exercise books as well to broaden your playing a bit as well as someone else mentioned making sure you learn the basic theory involved.

ReplyQuote
(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

I've been a guitar teacher for a long time (next month it will be 40 years!). In that time I've taught thousands of people, many of whom became gigging guitarists, and at least three are currently making a living as guitar teachers themselves.

I disagree with the statement, because it confuses the "why" with the "how".