Clear all

Hendrix - was he really that good?

78 Posts
22 Users
0 Likes
22.8 K Views
(@tinsmith)
Prominent Member

I agree with ya Vic on the smashing......You're right...Pete was the first I remember doing that.....
I guess I was talking about his musically style........soon after, many followed.

ReplyQuote
(@fleaaaaaa)
Prominent Member

He did really push guitar forward for a lot of people....... and at the time not many could play like Hendrix but now there's a lot of players young and old who can do what he did and some can even play way more technical things.

However...... it is still the music that resonated with me, I don't consider his music as just something there to show off his skill. I listened way before I was a guitarist anyway and that's one thing about Hendrix - he appeals to people even if they aren't guitarists. Where as many who advanced it further don't (Yngwie Malmsteen comes to mind). However in defense of people who don't get it....... I think at that time of my life I was already becoming obsessed with the guitar and wasn't far off taking my steps into becoming a guitarist, by 15 I had a bass, I was 12 when I first heard Hendrix and by 16 I was playing guitar.

together we stand, divided we fall..........

ReplyQuote
(@ezraplaysezra)
Honorable Member

I don't completely agree with you on this one Fleaaaa, I can play everything Hendrix played, but I can't play like Hendrix. Some people play guitar, some people are guitar players.
And as far as "showing off" as has been mentioned, I believe Hendrix could have played more if he chose too. I think he was really in tune to what was appropriate for the song and the performance.