Notifications
Clear all

AMP Question

10 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@criticalc)
Topic starter  

I am new to gear/amps etc.. I have always played acoustic..

If you had the choice between a Crate Palomino v8 All Tube Amp VS. Fender Frontman 25R Solid State

which would you choose?

Both have different applications and modes... the Crate is very basic but TUBE..

The reason I'm comparing is I can get either one for $100 - the Crate used (kijiji) the Fender NEW +Tax

(@matthiasyoung)
Eminent Member

I'm not really a fan of Crate in general, but if you can get a Tube amp for $100, that sounds good. Tube amps will always sound better at a higher volume than solid state amps.

ReplyQuote
(@criticalc)
Topic starter  

I was also thinking about a Fender Mustang for $109.00 + tax...
It's just that the crate will have only one sound really.. and there's no other channels.. VERY basic

The Mustang has like 40 different pre-sets and I've been reading good reviews. Just thought I would sign up to this forum and check out some other opinions.

I AM SO CONFUSED :p

Thanks for the reply though.

ReplyQuote
(@ezraplaysezra)
Honorable Member

Both amps have their fans. I would personally go with the crate as I'm biased to tube amps (is that a tech geek joke? get it? Biased + Tube Amp! Get it?) You have to be more careful with tube amps and they require more maintenance but people tend to respect them more and they have a little more vibe then your basic solid state amp.

ReplyQuote
(@kblake)
Reputable Member

Look at how you are going to use it.. I don't know either of these amps so I am assuming here ;)

Tubes generally sound better at volume, they usually don't have headphone sockets.. (at volume you could upset neighbours, family or room mates)

Solid states usually have headphone sockets and a plug for iPod to jam with .. (plug in headphones turn up and rock on lol)

Just my thoughts..

Keith

I know a little bit about a lot of things, but not a lot about anything...