Clear all

Advice on starting up a business

15 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

Well, a while back I made post about wanting to teach guitar in the future, and i was given some good advice and since then i have privately taught some children of family friends to get experience and build resources etc.

I have decided i will now advertise as a beginners guitar teacher, mainly for children, but i want to be legit about doing it should the tax man come knocking. I intend to book some time in with an accountant and take advice on how to set up as a private tutor in a sole trader type role.

My reasons for doing this are, like i said, to make sure I pay my tax's, but also to take full benefit of legal tax avoidance. Claiming back on petrol and strings etc.

Has anybody got any experience of doing something like this, or tips they can share?

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

(@alangreen)

Yep, did it myself at the end of 2009

You need to talk to the taxman and register as self-employed > when you take that first fee <, and not before. They'll send you details about workshops for record-keeping, claiming expenses and so on. Don't get into Limited Companies or anything like that just yet, it's not worth the cost until you're motoring.

I offset all my strings, advertising, printing, music books, PC costs, and website/ e-mail costs against gross revenues to derive pre-tax profit. If you still earn some money on PAYE then just add the self-employed page to your tax return (you WILL be sent one, first post on April 6th.) You don't need to worry about VAT until you gross something over £65K so that won't affect you yet.

Make sure you keep meticulous records, in case you're asked about anything.

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"