Clear all

hi all!!

8 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter

Haven't posted in a long while but still read the forum weekly.

Im just posting because I have an audition tomorrow for a new band, and im nervous.

They play acoustic mainly and im almost exclusively electric. However, I do feel our personalities gel.

The last two years have seen little guitar action from me, maybe an hour or two a week, but im back with avengeance now!!

Anyway, my question, how long does it take to adapt to acoustic lead guitar, from being an electric player? Might I be out my depth? Heck, I dont even own an electric acoustic yet :-(

I perhaps should have thought this through more :$

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

Posted : 28/05/2015 9:03 pm
(@alangreen)

String bends are tougher to achieve, and you have to push down a bit harder for barre chords, but once you get used to your hand being tired you'll be fine. Acoustic guitars are great for slide work

What I do with my own acoustic students is add back all those harmonies you lose playing powerchords on an electric - so the Alien Ant Farm cover of Michael Jackson's Smooth Criminal uses Am G and F instead of A5, G5 and F5.

You'll love it.

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"
I have always felt that it is better to do what is beautiful than what is 'right'" - Eliot Fisk
Wedding music and guitar lessons in Essex. Listen at: http://www.rollmopmusic.co.uk

Posted : 29/05/2015 6:31 am
 Nuno
(@nuno)
Famed Member

Hello Sir! :D

They are different instruments to me. They are different styles, too. To me it's easier to play acoustic stuff with an electric than the opposite. I guess it depends on the way you play. I agree with Alan, I tend to "slide" rather than "bend" (mainly by the string gauge or material).

Anyway, good luck and tell us!