Notifications
Clear all

New at Guitar

4 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@antinomy)
Topic starter

Hello, I am a rank beginner at guitar. I am middle aged, male, USA, Michigan, never married, no kids. I've been teaching myself guitar for somewhat less than two months. I made one attempt previously that lasted about a month. I've at least reached the point that other parts of my body/mind give out before my finger tips do.

The resources I've been using are Justin Sandercoe's site, YouTube videos (including those put out by the folks at Next Level Guitar), Wikipedia, Guitar Noise, Cyberfret, The Guitar Hankbook by Ralph Denyer, Fretboard Logic by Bill Edwards, How to Read Music by Roger Evans, and Google searches. I've also read, so far, the first two chapters of The Principles of Correct Practice for Guitar by Jamie Andreas and own, but have not yet used, Hal Leonard Guitar Method: Complete Edition. I'm of nerdish disposition, so I don't mind studying books.

My current equipment includes a Michael Kelly Hourglass T guitar and an Peavey Rage 158 amplifier. My strings are light.

My dream guitar, subject to change, currently is a Telecaster-style body with a maple neck and ebony fingerboard, TV Jones Classic Filtertrons in the neck and bridge positions, with locking tuners and a varitone knob. My naive thought, also subject to change, is that the Filtertrons in combination with the bright tone woods will create a high resonant peak that can then be adjusted as desired with the varitone knob. I don't claim to know what I'm talking about.