Notifications
Clear all

Hello to fellow guitarists

2 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@zitagsd)
Topic starter

I would just like to say hi. I am new here. I studied guitar for a couple of years when I was younger. basically classical. And fooled around with popular songs with a friend, and strummed VERY mediocerally (is this a word?) on my own. I never was very profficient, and it just kind of "died out" when other things - university, boys, work, marriage.....etc. took its place.

Now I am 48 (!) and my youngest decided to pick up this classical guitar that has been collecting dust (well, the case was!) for about 35 years. Can you believe I never got rid of it, and that included moving 7 time zones across the world?!?!

After she had about 4 lessons, I got the guitar itch too, and made a barter deal with her teacher (guitar vs. English lessons!) so now I am back. I grew up with the Barry Manilow and Barbra streisand type of crowd. (I.E. very square!!!) Couldn't have told you eric clapton, from Pink Floyd, from Santana ha ha ha .

Well, my teach is giving me "wish you were here", "layla", "sultans of swing"....What a blast!!!! Frist time I learned the words "riff" and "bend"....!!Even managed to break a string at one point!!!

I am learning LOTS also from this incredible site.

I need to be on another forum like a need a hole in the head....but anyways....nice to meet you all!

Posted : 03/03/2005 10:16 am
(@elecktrablue)
Famed Member