Notifications
Clear all

Randall Amps Question

4 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@mattlovespantera)
Topic starter  

Hey im a Metal Guitarist and im going to buy this amp head http://guitars.musiciansfriend.com/product/Randall-G3-Plus-Series-RH300G3PLUS-300W-Guitar-Amp-Head?sku=481693#new

now im sorry if this is dumb but its my first ever so .

what cab can go along with that , as in handle wattage , im looking for a randall cab tahts the cheapest since im short on money but that can handle that head PLEASE HELP

(@wes-inman)
Illustrious Member

Any 4, 8, or 16 ohm cabinet will work. The most important factor in matching any speaker or speaker cab to an amplifier head like this is impedence which is resistance to current flow. Resistance is measured in ohms. The specs for this amp say it will produce 300 watts of power at 4 ohms.

Now, the higher the ohms, the more resistance to current flow. So this amp will produce maximum power with a 4 ohms load. It will produce less power at an 8 or 16 ohms load. It is kind of like driving with your foot on the brake pedal if that makes sense.

With an 8 ohms load, this amp will produce about 70% power, or approximately 210 watts. With a 16 ohms load it will produce about 70% of what it produces at 8 ohms, or approximately 140 watts power.

So, you will get the most power and volume out of this amp with a 4 ohms cab. It will work with an 8 ohms or 16 ohms cab no problem, but it will not be as loud, and may not sound quite as lively.

Very important, you do not want to go below 4 ohms. For instance you would not want to run two 4 ohms cabs in parallel off this amp, that would be a 2 ohms load. This will cause too much current to run through the amp and it will overheat and likely burn up. You don't want that! :shock: