Clear all

Guitar Amp for a Newbie

13 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@springrod)
Topic starter  

Hi All,

I just got a new Jackson JS1 electric guitar for 100$ from one of the auction here in town, and I'm now looking to get myself an amp. Since I'm a newbie, can somebody help me to choose what amp do I need? BTW, I've been playing for about 2 months now :) and save some money to get an amp, my price range would be about the same as my guitar

thanks a lot, your help and input would be greatfully appreciated
:)

(@dagwood)
Noble Member

Springrod,

Welcome to Guitar Noise 8)
The Best Guitar Forum on the NET. The folks here are awesome and full of all kinds of knowledge and experience.

If I only had a $100 and change to spend.. simple a Behringer V-AMPwith some Good Headphones.

No Really. This will allow you to explore a multitude of tones, amp sims, effects and the like, then once you dial in your tone, be it a rectified fuzzed out wah'd hellion or a raunchy blackfaced devil of a tone-meister then you could possibly set your sites on the real deal. (Marshall Plexi or a Fender Tube'd or Mesa Boogied).

This is only my suggestion, since I take it your in the exploration phase of the cool, awesome sounds that await you. Or you soon will be :).

If you get just one amp, you'll be locked into that amps tone (and/or effects that may come with it) And quite honestly, I think you'll do yourself more justice with something like a V-amp than say one, 'inferior' amp, for only $100 bucks. Mind you though, there are alot of great amps out there for around $100 bucks, but I put my Money on a V-amp.

I went this route almost a year ago and found the tone I was after and I later 'splurged' for real amp. I still love my V-amp and play with it often, especially early in the morning. ( love putting on the headphones and dialing in a maxed out, rectified, stadium sound and just kicking arse first thing in the morning).