Clear all

MIdiot Drums

7 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@jwmartin)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

So, I'm an idiot when it comes to MIDI. Which is sad since I write software for a living and am supposed to know everything about computers (at least my tech challenged friends and family believe so). I was going to post a question asking for advice choosing between EZDrummer and Addictive Drums. A lunch time trip to Guitar Center has pretty much answered my query since I purchased Addictive Drums. :) I asked about EZDrummer first, because it seemed well recommended and was cheaper ($150). Well, they had it on sale for $119 (and if you buy before April 30, Toontracks has a mail in rebate for a free expansion pack). I asked about Addictive Drums, he said they had it, but none on the shelf. I asked what his opinion was about the two and he said the absolute best was BFD. At $400, I'm sure it is. I told him that was a little more than I needed since my studio also doubled as my living room. He thought Addictive was a little better than EZD, so I asked how much it was and he had to go in the back to find out. At this point, I was sold on EZD at $119, since Addictive is $199 on GC's site. I mean, I'm just trying to get something better than my keyboard's crappy drum sounds. He comes back with Addictive and it's on sale for $129! So I bought it, like the compulsive shopper I am (this was supposed to be a reconnaissance trip).

Of course, now I need to upgrade Cubase because I have the free LE version and you can't drag and drop the pre-built drum tracks in the LE version.