Notifications
Clear all

What’s the issue?

4 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@thelostart)
Topic starter  

Hello - I’ve joined this forum out of desperation and hoping someone can help!

I’m a full-time musician and mainly play a Martin DM acoustic for most of my gigs. It gets played a LOT. For example, I sometimes do cruise contracts which can mean playing it 4 times a day, every day for four months, so I had to get the frets dressed several times a year. When they became beyond saving, I had the frets replaced with those “gold” alloy ones that don’t wear as fast. (They’ve been great)

Obviously, I was having some intonation problems before I got the frets replaced last year, but I’ve noticed that one of the issues persisted: the high e and b strings are slightly sharp as soon as I fret them anywhere on the neck. The issue isn’t quite as noticeable with a fresh set but I have to tune those two strings slightly flat and then either use a capo or try to avoid playing them open. It’s very frustrating!

My usual guitar tech suggested it might be an issue with the bridge so we replaced it with one that was shaped to add some extra compensation for intonation. It didn’t change anything. My understanding is that if I can tune the string slightly flat and it sounds fine fretted anywhere but when played open, then the frets aren’t the problem, and after replacing the bridge, all that’s left is an issue with the nut. My guitar tech disagrees and when we replaced the bridge said “that’s as good as it’ll get”.

I messaged another local guitar tech that’s always too busy to work on my guitar in the short gaps I sometimes have between gigs (must be good if he has such a backlog right?) and he suggested I try some fresh strings. Needless to say, I found this advice unhelpful because I get through around 5 packs a month.