Clear all

having some trouble with string buzz

4 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
 kh15
(@kh15)
Topic starter  

hey guys, i'm new here! my name is Karl and i have been playing guitar for 14 years now!

Ive always done standard setups on all my guitars (neck adjustment, string height, inotation) but never anything more complex like re-fretting, etc.

I'm currently having an issue with my PRS custom 24...
PRS recommends the following when setting up there guitars, .010'' of relief, and 4/64th string height at the 12th fret.

I choose to set it pretty much the same however with a little less relief in the neck, around .080 to .090 of relief. String height at the 12th fret is right on at 4/64th and the guitar plays perfect, but i get string buzz on the "A" string from around the 5th fret on! I just cant figure out the issue for the life of me so I'm turning to you guys!? Also a few years back I had a new nut put on the guitar since I changed string gauge since I play larger diameter .10 through .46 strings than what came on the guitar. I checked the height of all the strings at the 1st fret while holding down the string on the 3rd fret and its perfect at .050 at every string.

The only other thing I can think of is a high fret but only one string effected? Or dial in less relief in the neck? I'm a pretty aggressive player so I would like to try and avoid that if possible.

Thanks in advanced and I look forward to contributing as much as I can to the forum in the future :D

(@blue-jay)
Noble Member

You're remarkably specific and I had to read your post 10 times, it was so good; also to see what the problem is, with all the specs looking fine.

Sight down the neck and I think you'll find that you indeed have got it too straight, with not enough bow. A slight bow will work, as long as the dip, or "positive bow" is there, to the eye. Straight necks look good, but we can't usually get away with that.