16 Posts
13 Users
0 Likes
11.4 K Views
(@dommy09)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Hi all,

I currently have a problem, the middle knuckle on my index finger gets sore after about 20 minutes of playing. I think i strained it one time from barring a couple of strings and pushed down on the fretboard too hard.
I was just wondering if anyone else had ever had sore joints in their fingers and what they did to make a quick recovery? i'm scared if i play too much i will do some permanent damage.

thanks
Dom

"We all have always shared a common belief that music is meant to be played as loud as possible, really raw and raunchy, and I'll punch out anyone who doesn't like it the way I do." -Bon Scott

(@blackzerogsh)
Prominent Member

i'm no doctor or anything, but i advise you put down the guitar for a couple of weeks, until everything is back to normal.

rather you rest a little now and go back to normal playing conditions, rather than add additional strain to your joint and continue playing now, which could risk more serious (and possibly permanent) damage

ReplyQuote
(@dommy09)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

yeh thanks, unfortunately i think that's what i'm going to have to do, but i'll keep reading about theory and stuff so i don't fall to far behind

"We all have always shared a common belief that music is meant to be played as loud as possible, really raw and raunchy, and I'll punch out anyone who doesn't like it the way I do." -Bon Scott

ReplyQuote
(@katmetal)
Prominent Member

Yeah, give it a rest, it sounds like you've been overdoing it. I did that to my pinky finger joint awhile back, & after a week or so layoff, I was back at it. It didn't take too long to come around, but you have to give it time to recover. :)

ReplyQuote
(@misanthrope)
Noble Member

yeh thanks, unfortunately i think that's what i'm going to have to do, but i'll keep reading about theory and stuff so i don't fall to far behind