Notifications
Clear all

Song Retention

34 Posts
20 Users
0 Likes
(@hyperborea)
Prominent Member

I think I mentioned this on here before but many years ago when I was an undergrad I took a studying workshop on campus (I was always a bad studier and needed all the help I could get). What they taught us for optimally remembering was to refresh the things we wanted to remember on increasing intervals just about the time that you would forget it. So, for the school case it was to review the notes you took in class: 1) that evening; 2) at the end of the week; 3) at the end of the month; 4) at the end of the semester.

For longer term memory retention you'd probably want to review it again at some longer intervals. You could maybe add reviews to the schedule above at another 3 months, 6 months, and then a year. Every time you recall it you are strengthening the memory and making it easier to recall the next time.

Writing things out is also another good way to strengthen the memory. When learning Japanese it was far better for me to write my own flashcards than to buy pre-printed ones. Writing out the flashcards actually helped my memory of the items. For remembering the song you could copy it out at first (in tab or notation - whichever one you know and are using) and then on later review sessions try writing it out from memory.

Pop music is about stealing pocket money from children. - Ian Anderson

ReplyQuote
(@jwmartin)
Noble Member

Writing things out is also another good way to strengthen the memory. When learning Japanese it was far better for me to write my own flashcards than to buy pre-printed ones. Writing out the flashcards actually helped my memory of the items. For remembering the song you could copy it out at first (in tab or notation - whichever one you know and are using) and then on later review sessions try writing it out from memory.