Clear all

Next step?

10 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@eljoekickass)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I've been using Blues you can use for some of its lessons, and i found that i dont know what to do next. I learned the minor pentonic scales and i can comfortably play them in the different keys. I just don't know how to make everything work together. The book does well to tell me what to practice but it doesnt tell me why to practice things. FOr example, I am supposed to practice the roots of the scales, but i dont know what they are for. I really want to be able to start playing the blues but i find that I dont know what to do next. I've been playing for almost three years but the last year i havent really gone anywhere with my playing. What are your thoughts?

(@gdhudspeth)

Try the books "More Blues You Can Use," and "Blues by the Bar." Both of these expand on what you've already learned. Additionally, you should start to transcribe your favorites songs so that you can see how they are built.

Hope this helps...

ReplyQuote
(@eljoekickass)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I think ill try those books. What do you mean when you say "transcribe"? My knowledge is a little lacking here.

ReplyQuote
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

transcribe just means to listen and learn how to play them, either just by memorizing or by writing down the notes.
learn to play a simple blues shuffle, and add in a couple licks here and there, and you're playing the blues. i usually just keep the bass note going with my thumb and then improvise over it.

ReplyQuote
(@gdhudspeth)