Skip to content
How to make a simpl...

Notifications
Clear all

How to make a simple song sound more interesting?

10 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@canvas01)
Topic starter  

I'm hoping you guys can give me advice on how to make a simple 3 or 4 chord song sound interesting on solo acoustic. For instance A Pair of Brown Eyes by the Pogues is a fantastic 3 chord song and sounds great in a band format, but when it is stripped down to just a guitar it gets a little boring / repetitive. What can a guitarist do to spice songs like these up a bit?

(@jerboa)
Estimable Member

I'm by no means an expert. In fact I'm wrong more than right! :shock:

but...have you looked at Dave's lessons(on this site)? The Songs for Beginners and Intermediates are all exactly what you are asking. He takes a song, and works it up for a solo guitarist.

The songs themselves might not be what you want, but he goes through his thought process with each song as well. (Geared, of course, toward teaching a particular point, and using that song as the vehicle)

There are two kinds of people in this world:
Those who think there are two kinds of people in this world, and those who don't

ReplyQuote
(@slejhamer)
Famed Member

Greetings canvas01 from another long-time Pogues fan!

Jerboa offers good advice. Be sure to check out the lessons on creating "chord melody" arrangements. I think that's what you're looking for. Some starters:

https://www.guitarnoise.com/lessons/jolly-old-saint-nicholas/
https://www.guitarnoise.com/lessons/birth-of-a-chord-melody/
https://www.guitarnoise.com/lessons/after-the-gold-rush/

"Everybody got to elevate from the norm."

ReplyQuote
(@jasonrunguitar)
Reputable Member

Definately start with the lessons. They're a fantastic resource just riddled with little gems of ideas.