Clear all

Holding your pick if your index finger is destroyed

9 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
 Exy7
(@exy7)
Topic starter  

FIrst off, I have been play guitar for 4 years. I have been playing 12-16 hours a day for the fast four years and advanced very quickly as I have had a musical background.

Somebody brought to my attention that I have been holding my pick the wrong way. :( I hold it between my thumb, index and middle finger. Now, I do know this is wrong, as I tried to hold it between my thumb and index finger when I first started.
Now, here is the issue....when I was younger, I badly damaged my right wrist and because of that, somehow, my index finger became very weak and very hard to move. Every other finger is fine!

Now, when I play a song, (lets use Mr. brightside by the killers for example here) I notice a different feel in that, if I use the pick between my index finger and thumb, its feels easy and more fluid to play, but hurts badly to move the index finger. Then, when I use all three fingers to hold the pick, its a bit harder to play, but doesn't hurt.

Whats your take on this? Is it okay to hold the pick with 3 fingers (I've heard that The Edge does this, is this true?)
should I try to play with the pick between my thumb and index finger?
and could playing with the pick using the 3 fingers hold me back?

oh, and to add, I play mostly jazz/fusion. When I do play rock, its mostly in the style of The Edge, Dave Keuning (The Killers) and The Eagles.

thanks for your help :D

(@hbriem)
Honorable Member

Pretty near everyone I know uses the middle finger too. And they do OK generally. So I wouldn't worry too much.

--
Helgi Briem
hbriem AT gmail DOT com

ReplyQuote
(@staffan)
Estimable Member

I read in an interview with James Hetfield (of Metallica) that he too holds the pick with three fingers... and he does ok I guess... :roll:

Just do whatever suits you.

AAAFNRAA
- Electric Don Quixote -

ReplyQuote
(@s1120)
Prominent Member