Clear all

D Chord GRRR....

15 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@heavymetalhead7)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

So I've been playing guitar for 2 months now and I've seen that I have improved whitch made me extremely happy but on to the promblem. I can't seem to land the d chord clean I can only do it about 50-60 percent of the time. It seems my middle finger oddly is causing the trouble it keeps landing to shot or to far off of the high e string I've been working at these for 3 weeks and still can't perfect it. Now it's in my mind that I will be stuck on this damn chord forever. Any advice I can get my fingers to all land at the same time perfectly by the way it's just transitioning to d is a dang pain.

(@alangreen)

You've only been playing for two months - don't worry, it will come.

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"
I have always felt that it is better to do what is beautiful than what is 'right'" - Eliot Fisk
Wedding music and guitar lessons in Essex. Listen at: http://www.rollmopmusic.co.uk

ReplyQuote
(@davidhodge)

One thing that helps a lot of people get better at the D chord is remembering that your wrist pivots. Imagine putting your wrist watch on so that the watch face is on the palm side of your fretting hand. For most chords, your watch face will be pointing at the ceiling. For the D chord, try pivoting your wrist so that the watch face would be pointing at the body of your guitar. Positioning your wrist in this fashion will allow you to place your first two fingers almost directly over each other on the first (high E) and third (G) strings. This, in turn, should allow you to place your ring finger cleanly on the B string and all fingers should be fine as to letting the strings ring clearly.

Hope this helps. And welcome to Guitar Noise. Hope to see more of you around on the Forum pages.

Peace

ReplyQuote
(@heavymetalhead7)
Eminent Member
Topic starter