Clear all

Anyone Self taught?

51 Posts
43 Users
0 Likes
11.1 K Views
(@1armbandit)
Estimable Member

Self taught. I haven't taken lessons but I have mined a lot of great stuff from here, Justinguitar, Threechordguitar and others on the internet.

How long. Two years tomorrow. I have had a guitar a year longer than that but had to create a way to play. I was 50 when I started BTW.

How good. A long way to go but good enough to play in public. Led the Worship team at church for a year or so playing singing and playing racked harp.

Barre chords are my next hurdle and Noteboat has given me some great direction so maybe after that finger picking, any body got extra fingers laying around. :lol:

Jack

ReplyQuote
(@samer)
Eminent Member

I think every one is self taught, and every one has learned from some one else; just because you didn't take formal lessons doesn't mean you didn't pick up information from other guitarists.

Watching a video of your favorite guitar player can be just as informational as sitting down for a lesson, i never understood people that made the claim to be self taught.

ReplyQuote
(@keithkr)
Eminent Member

I learned to play via a course on the internet, plus visiting lots of sites, so i suppose you could class me as self taught,
I have been strumming along for about 4 years now, but was to be honest starting to get slightly bored, then i thought i would have a go at travis picking, and it has opened up a whole new avenue for me, learned a few different patterns and play lots of songs using that style, but it also gave me confidence enough to try, fingerpicking, as in bass and melody, now i am rekindled :D

ReplyQuote
(@budysr)
Trusted Member