Clear all

Another struggling beginner

3 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@senior-beginner)
Topic starter  

Hello everyone....

This is my first post and I'll tell you a little about myself. At 60 yrs old, I picked up my first instrument ever just one year ago. I bought a New Mexican Fender Stratocaster from a local music store. They sold me some lessons and I've been seeing this teacher about every 3-4 weeks. He gives me plenty of material to work on. Of course I never master all of it but I can play it slowly with some expected mistakes. I made an emotional buy a few months ago with the commitment to this new hobby of a Gibson Les Paul Standard in Heritage Sunburst Cherry. It was way too much $$ than I needed to spend but a $3800 guitar for $2300 was a deal on a beautiful guitar I couldn't resist. The Gibson sits in its case with only an occasional fondling while I abuse the Fender. I started practicing about 1/2 hr a day for the first 3-4 months then increased it to an hour, sometimes more. As of the recent month, minimum an hour, sometimes up to two hours a day. I'm trying my best to put in the time and effort and recently re-strung the Fender myself. That was a satisfying experience.