Clear all

How to "perfect" a song??

7 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@globetro)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

I've been playing guitar for almost 3 years now, and I still find it really hard to totally perfect a song. I find I can get to a point where I can play each section of a song at full speed pretty well, but when it comes to playing the entire song from start to finish, I have a hard time playing it perfectly. I'll inevitably mess up on a small part here and there. I think it's usually caused by nerves and/or lack of concentration, since I can play each section perfectly on their own.

Any suggestions on how to get better at this? My thoughts are to either 1) Just play the entire song from start to finish over and over, or 2) Keep practicing each section until I can play them in my sleep. The problem I have with both these solutions is that I find that I get completely sick of the song before I get to the point of perfection.

I've also thought about just putting the song on the back burner, and returning to it later, but I find if I do that, I wind up having to spend quite a while getting back up to speed again on it.

(@chasembrown)
Trusted Member

I think you have to be 'sick' of a song to play in perfectly. It just takes so much replaying to get it.

A lot of playing is messing up. I have messed up the songs that I perform regularly in every conceivable way; now I know how to deal with the errors, from making them so frequently.

Also, you're not a robot (i presume), and as such you will always have little idiosyncratic aspects of your playing. That is what makes you the player you are, and a person who others will want to hear.

http://www.myspace.com/chasembrown
http://www.myspace.com/senselessbeats

ReplyQuote
(@scrybe)
Famed Member