Clear all

scale with position shift

8 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@tinsmith)
Prominent Member
Topic starter  

I'm studying a couple of things in a Tony Rice Vid. He shows a G Major scale with position shift.
I was wondering if anyone knows any more of them. I thought it was kinda slick....simple but slick..

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------7----8----10---------------
----------------------------------------------------------------------------7---8---10---------------------------------
-----------------------------------------0----------------------7----9--------------------------------------------------
--------------------------0----2---4-----------7----9----10---------------------------------------------------------------
-----------0----2----3-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
------3--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

(@neztok)
Estimable Member

You can shift anywhere you feel like it. Once you add a few more things to your toolbox (besides patterns) you don't really have to think much about it. Is this what you're asking for:

ReplyQuote
(@alangreen)

Example 2 looks nice and tidy. I presume you'd slide your pinky up to the 10th fret for the final D and slide it back to the 8th fret to come back down the scale?

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"
I have always felt that it is better to do what is beautiful than what is 'right'" - Eliot Fisk
Wedding music and guitar lessons in Essex. Listen at: http://www.rollmopmusic.co.uk

ReplyQuote
(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

Take a look at the Rosetta Stone for Guitar. Fred Pool shows you how to move all over the neck

I started with nothing - and I've still got most of it left.
Did you know that the word "gullible" is not in any dictionary?
Greybeard's Pages
My Articles & Reviews on GN

ReplyQuote
(@tinsmith)