Clear all

Why are you a guitarist

64 Posts
45 Users
0 Likes
10.9 K Views
(@scrybe)
Famed Member

This is a good topic for my first real post...

I started learning when I found out my wife was pregnant.

I wanted my child to have a real appreciation of music. I thought it would be cool to sing some good songs rather than Barney and Raffi songs. Hence my first songs have been 'Sweet Child o' mine', 'wonderwall' and 'Live Forever'.

I also thought it would be good to see her father learning (and struggling!) with something, and still loving it.

This is a seriously awesome post. Props for taking that attitude.

I play guitar because I love being noisy. :roll: I also just like anything I can use to communicate, and anything even vaguely paradoxical or never-ending. I think the craft of music is both of these things. I find it easy to become bored with something once I've figured it out, but I don't think that will ever fully happen with music (and why I'm eager to try to figure it all out).

Ra Er Ga.

Ninjazz have SuperChops.

http://www.blipfoto.com/Scrybe

ReplyQuote
(@3chordsabadattitude)
Eminent Member

I played a little back in college, but it didn't make sense to me the same way piano did, so I didn't really pursue it for that long. I gave my guitar to my nephew a few years later and he still uses it in his band when he isn't playing drums.

I had fun with Guitar Hero and Rock Band over the last few years and then my daughter started with guitar lessons recently. I keep an eye on her progress when she's practicing and help out from time to time. I thought about trying to pick it back up, but I really only have time for one big hobby and for me that was motorcycles.