Clear all

vibration/rattling sound from strings

13 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
56.1 K Views
(@swy81)
Topic starter  

I'm a newbie to guitars so, any advice would be much appreciated.

I finally received my guitar and I've been trying to tune the strings. The thing is no matter how much I tighten the guitar, there is always a vibrating sound when I strum the strings.

For example: I'll strum a string and then a couple seconds later, there will be vibration/rattling coming from the strings.

The strings came loose in the beginning when my guitar arrived to my house. But, no matter how much I tighten it, there is still rattling coming from the strings when strummed.

Perhaps something is misaligned or not setup correctly? Should I have a professional guitar tech look at it?

Thanks! :)

(@rum-runner)
Reputable Member

Sounds like the strings might be coming in contact with the frets when you pluck them- a common problem, indicating the action (i.e., height of strings above the fretboard) might be too low. Abnother cause may be a neck that is not perfectly straight. Hold the string down at one of the high frets, where the neck joins the body- and check the spacing between the string and the frets. It should be the same all the way down. If not, it will need to be straightened.

What do you mean by tightening the guitar? Are you referring the truss rod? That's something not to fool with unless you at least somewhat know what you are doing. Tightening it too much could cause damage.

If you know anyone who is a more experienced player, have them take a look at the neck. If it's out of alighment, then a professional setup might be the thing to do.

Regards,

Mike

"Growing Older But Not UP!"

ReplyQuote
(@swy81)
Topic starter  

Thanks for the input.

Meant to say, I'm tightening the string as in the head of the guitar turning it slowly.

Just curious if this is normal or not as this is a brand new guitar.

ReplyQuote
(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member