Clear all

Travel Guitar or Not

34 Posts
18 Users
0 Likes
(@kevinbatchelor77)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

My job is requiring me to travel 5 days a month for this next year. I have been playing for 2 years and making real good progress and do not want to start taking steps backwards. Everything I read says that to improve you have to have consistent practice everyday. Will this 5 days of travel be an issue? I have been thinking about purchasing a travel guitar or a shred neck would this be a good thing to do. My other option was to study theory those 5 days. Any thoughts what would you guys do in the situation?

(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

I can only speak from my own perspective, which is; I will never go away again, not even for a single night, without taking a guitar. Maybe I'm obsessed, but I really don't care - what I do know is, if I don't have a guitar close to hand I'm miserable.

A couple of years or so back, I came into some money; straight away, booked a weekend break in Amsterdam. Plenty to see and do in Amsterdam, right? Well - maybe. All I know is, I didn't have a guitar with me. I did have a laptop, and kept checking into GN which held the cravings at bay.

Anyway, a few weeks later, we went for a week in Spain. This time, the guitar was the first item to be packed. As luck would have it, the hotel had an enormous bar, so the first night there we stayed in and I brought the guitar down. Just a few friends sat round a quiet table. People then started wandering back in and asking for songs - I had a few drinks bought for me that night! Later in the week, I got to play along with the hotel pianist - that was fun.

Next holiday was three weeks in Texas - this time I took two guitars....well actually, I took an electric, and took delivery of an acoustic I bought off Nick whilst there. Played my first ever open mic with it, as well.