Clear all

Strumming with plectrums

14 Posts
13 Users
0 Likes
(@scutman7)
Topic starter  

Hi everyone
I have been playing guitar for about 16 months, and I'm fairly proficient now, however I still have problems strumming with a plectrum, it seems to catch, especially on the up stroke. I much prefer to play without, but the sound is more muffled, has anyone any suggestions as to improve to the sound, I have tried to play with the back of the fingers, on the nails, but doesn't seem to work.
Thanks

(@subparguitar)

I've learned to love the sound of playing with my fingers/nails. You could try growing out your nails a little bit, particularly on the pointer finger, and even use a polish to strengthen the sound and give a smoother feel. I've never done it myself, but a few friends have done it and love it, plus who doesn't want shiny nails.

There are still certain songs that really require a plectrum, either for the harsher sound or the precision, but I do think it is a matter of preference.

Another thing I do sometimes is try to play with one of the more rounded edges of a pick. It makes it catch less and can be easier on the up stroke.

ReplyQuote
(@thelaughingbard)

I know what you mean about string-catching. Recently I've started strumming a lot less full on and this helps, i.e. not hitting the strings so hard. Also, what pick thickness do you use? Maybe it would help if you used a lighter plectrum.

Nowadays I only get string catching when I'm drunk.

One bard on a quest for musical enlightenment.
thelaughingbard.com

ReplyQuote
 Cat
(@cat)
Noble Member

I use a super thin...it's too bendy to catch on anything you want to pick...

Cat

"Feel what you play...play what you feel!"

ReplyQuote
(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

I suspect that you're showing too much of the pick to the string. You only need to catch the string with the very tip of the pick, no more than 1/16th of an inch.

I started with nothing - and I've still got most of it left.