Notifications
Clear all

Question about playability

11 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@cheechwizard)
Topic starter  

Being a newbie, I didn't really know how to choose a guitar. I bought an acoustic that I thought sounded good, and wasn't too expensive. I am trying to learn, and having a tough time of it, but maybe I'm expecting too much too soon.

So recently I'm at a friends house, and we trade guitars. I'm playing his and thinking, "Man, this is nice."
After he plays mine awhile, he says, "these strings are killing my fingers."
As it turned out, we both had the same strings--Elixer lights. His guitar is a dreadnought, and mine a OOO size, but the distance from the nut to the saddle is the same.
My strings are noticeably more taut than his strings. My action is a little higher than his, but only a little. So my strings are harder to fret, harder to bend, and pull-offs high on the neck are almost impossible. Normally when I stop practicing it's because my fingers are hurting, not because I'm tired of playing.

So....do I learn to live with this, or is there some way to make my guitar as easy to play as his?

(@ricochet)
Illustrious Member

Look up a page on "acoustic guitar setup." I'll suggest: http://frets.com/

Check the neck relief according to the instructions there and see if your truss rod needs adjustment. If not, your saddle may need sanding off carefully on the bottom to lower the action. If that won't work, the neck may need to be reset, which is a professional job that may cost more than a cheap guitar is worth.

"A cheerful heart is good medicine."

ReplyQuote
 Mike
(@mike)
Famed Member

As it turned out, we both had the same strings--Elixer lights.
The gauge might be different. "10 lights" will be easier to bend than "12 lights".

Mike

ReplyQuote
(@unimogbert)
Estimable Member

So....do I learn to live with this, or is there some way to make my guitar as easy to play as his?