Notifications
Clear all

Picking?

3 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@austinvanaustin)
Topic starter  

Hello, my name is Austin and I have been playing the guitar for about eight or nine months, I've caught on really quickly spending just about all day on my acoustic or electric from the time I get home from school until I go to sleep.

But one thing that I have never really figured out is if picking (strumming?) upwards is bad, take F.C.P.R.E.M.I.X by The Fall of Troy for example. I can do just fine with the whole song picking upwards for every individual string, but would it be more... "correct", to pick downwards? The only excuse I could ever come up with as to why I pick upwards is because I am left handed, and maybe I do things backwards by habit?

(@ryanrhoads)

yeah, unless you are really good at picking like that, unless youve practiced alot a downstroke sounds much different than an upstroke, especially with chords, though, alot of tablature and such will tell you if its ^ or v

just practice practice practice :D
It took me awhile to get up picking, basically I just played the major pentatonic scale over and over with just up picking,
and now either way sounds identical.

:D

mostly, it just depends on the song.

e--------------------9--12--16--12--9-----------------------
B---------------10-----------------------10-------------------
G----------11---------------------------------11-------------
D---9h12------------------------------------------12--7~~---

ZOMG

ReplyQuote
(@blueline)
Noble Member

You said you are a lefty. Are you playing a right handed guitar? That can have an influence on how you are playing. The fact that you are comfortable using upstrokes is a good thing. A majority of people usually have some difficulty with that. However, you are going to need to learn how to strum or pick in both directions. This will help you become a well rounded guitarist.