Clear all

Leaving Capo on

14 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@brentb)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Is it bad to hang up my acoustic (old Gibson J 45) with the capo still on. I don't, but am wondering????

brent

(@almann1979)
Noble Member

As far as I know it won't do any harm at all :D

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

ReplyQuote
(@tinsmith)
Prominent Member

I always thought it wasn't good for the neck....it could leave a groove or string grooves......maybe just an old wives tale.

ReplyQuote
(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

I've noticed that if I leave a capo on a guitar for a couple of days it changes the tone. I figure it may be crimping the strings over the fret, which will change the overtone distribution, but I've never really experimented with it - I just don't do it anymore.

Guitar teacher offering lessons in Plainfield IL

ReplyQuote
(@chris-c)
Famed Member

Hi BrentB,

I also use to fret, just a little, that leaving the capo on might - well - fret the frets just a little, or something like that.... :)

But I'd forget and leave it on anyway - sometimes for days at a time - and have never noticed a problem. I imagine that leaving the strings fractionally more stretched than usual might have some tiny effect, but then so does stretching and rubbing the strings while I'm playing, or putting the capo on for an hour or two when I'm using it. So might leaving it in an alternative tuning, etc. Most things you do in life have some small effect, but it's usually not worth worrying about. Just walking to the fridge to get a beer probably fractionally wears my knee joints, but I don't lose any sleep over it.