Clear all

Jamming?!?!??

6 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@dudle1977)
Topic starter  

Hi everyone,

I was at Glastonbury in England the other week for the festival. It was amazing. I stumbled across this jamming tent. 4 me this was the highlight of the entire festival. It was incredible. People were just getting up + playing instuments with people theyd never met b4. There was a 8 year old kid playing drums, a 16 year old playing bass + two older blokes playing 6 string guitar - one rhythm + the other Lead.

Can any1 tell me how the hell people can do this. It worked amazingly. I wouldnt even know where to start. Ive been playing guitar for a few years now + never jammed with anyone b4. How do they know what chords (rhythm) and single notes (lead) to play. I assume they must some how know what key they r all in + basically know which notes not to play?

Also when making up riffs from scales eg. say the pentatonic scale if u r in the key of E, the scale chart only shows it covering over 4 frets, so how is it possible for lead guiatrists to step outside of this scale box and the notes do not seem to sound out of key?

Any advice would be amazing. Watching these people jam together was very inspiring + Id love to be able to get up there next year + play with a couple of dudes Id never even met b4.

Thanks,

Andy

(@kevinbatchelor77)
Trusted Member