Notifications
Clear all

Improvisation

6 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@blues_man)
Topic starter  

hi all, i`m new to this forum...i know somethings in life have a time scale and some questions could be answered as "how long is a piece of string" but i wanted to pose a question to teachers in particular as we know the average time scale to learn to drive is 12-15 lessons..my question would be this ..how long from being a complete novice would it take to learn to improvise on a guitar if say..we were learning the basics and practicing say an hour a day..i know it depends on the individual and how fast that person picks things up ..but on average based on say over a 100 students..how long could it take for a student to get up to scratch and learn to improvise..this would be from learning chords,scales and so on.. then progressing to play the blues (my favourite style)..any feedback would be grateful and thanks in advance...happy strumming and keep the faith

cnev
(@cnev)
Famed Member

I'm not a teacher but it's pretty difficult to give you an average when everyone advances differently and also when you say improvise at what level? the very basic or advanced.

Depending on the person it could take several months or several years but let's see what some of the teachers say.

"It's all about stickin it to the man!"
It's a long way to the top if you want to rock n roll!

ReplyQuote
(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

Music's a language. How long does it take to learn a language?

You can learn some phrases in a day. As long as you're not overly self-conscious about it, you can be improvising literally within minutes. But like any other language, limited vocabulary means a limited ability (think Pidgin English)

The more you add to the vocabulary, the more you can do. You might be adding in terms of technique, scales, fingerings (each scale has a bunch), or you might be adding to your ability on the 'grammar' side, learning theory, harmony, composition techniques, and so on.