Clear all

Guitar to Amplifier ratio

29 Posts
19 Users
0 Likes
(@d1ng0)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Im curious as to what the general public thinks about this.

If someone for example were spending $1000 would you spend 500 on a guitar and 500 on the amp?

What do you think is the proper ratio asuming thats all the cash you have for a while.

Im a complete guitar newb. Feel free to e-mail me useful links for biggining players. thanks!

(@kingpatzer)
Noble Member

A $200 guitar in an $800 amp will sound nearly as good as a $1000 guitar through an $800 amp.

A $200 amp sounds like a $200 amp even with a $5k guitar plugged in.

You're missing the option on the poll of 80% on the Amp and 20% on the ax.

"The music business is a cruel and shallow money trench, a long plastic hallway where thieves and pimps run free, and good men die like dogs. There's also a negative side." -- HST

ReplyQuote
 cnev
(@cnev)
Famed Member

Wow always seems like I'm one post behind king and he's right. The amp will have more effect on your sound than any guitar will.

I have three guitars that I spent $160, $350, and $600 on and I play them through a 15W Fender practice amp. Guess what, they all sound pretty much the same other than the Strat does have that brighter sound.

If I were you I'd spend about $500-600 on a good tube amp and the rest on the guitar. You can get a pretty decent guitar for $400.

"It's all about stickin it to the man!"
It's a long way to the top if you want to rock n roll!

ReplyQuote
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

I spent almost my whole budget on the guitar and very little on the amp.
I only needed something to practice with and had no intention of playing in public. Later when more funds became available I invested in a better amp.
I guess the ratio would depend on what you want to do and how long before you can upgrade.

ReplyQuote
(@teleplayer324)
Noble Member