Guitar-in-a-nutshell.com

13 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
17.1 K Views
(@snwbrdnegtrst)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Has anyone here used this program? I am a full on newb and I'm hoping to get good bang for my buck and progress quickly. When my wife bought my guitar for me (how lucky am I?!?) she also picked up Alfred's Max DVD and book set, which seems to really focus on sight reading and building note by note and string by string, but it makes me feel like I'm in elementary school! I stumbled across the Guitar-in-a-nutshell program and it intrigued me because it was so different. I tried the first lesson and I was impressed with how quickly you jump into actual playing. I'm concerned though that this is a "run before you walk" beginner mistake...
My goals are modest (for now). I just want to be able to play songs for my friends at parties and camping, I have no illusions of becoming the next SRV, Eric Johnson, etc. How important is it to really start with the nitty gritty nuts and bolts of the guitar? Am I hurting future progress by skipping these basic lessons?
Any insight that you might have is GREATLY appreciated, and sorry to the mods that have to read all these posts before they get posted, let's just say I'm over-eager to learn :mrgreen:

All the world's a stage, but the play is poorly cast

(@alangreen)

I'd say that the more sources you use to learn to play guitar the better. We've got lessons by the shedload on this site, they're all FREE, and if there's anything you don't understand you can talk to the author about it direct or any number of other musicians; so they're always our starting point for recommendations.

Any tuition method needs to get you playing "something" on day one, otherwise it's a complete waste of money.

My students' lessons cover three areas; melody - the note by note, string by string bit; rhythm; and harmony - chords, so you can play your favorite songs. If Guitar-in-a-nutshell does that for you then good.