14 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
15.8 K Views
(@jabba)
Topic starter  

Hi,
I'm new to this fantastic forum.

I'm just learning how to play and I got a yamaha GL1 guitalele as a gift.

This little  guitar/ukulele hybrid is tuned ADGCEa which means that it's tuned like a guitar with a capo on the 5th fret. I'm a totally beginner and this "special" tuning is confusing me, so I tuned it to EADGBe, like a normal guitar, but the strings were floppy and finally I re-tuned it ADGCEa.

As I said I'm learning just now and I'm not strong in music theory, so I'm here to ask some questions:

Can I play this instrument like a normal guitar? I know that if I play an E chord it will actually be an A chord but, will the music "sound" the same, just with a different key? Or I have supposed to transpose all guitar sheets? I'm not going to join a band or playing with other, so it should not be a problem, right?

Finally, can I use a book like "guitar for dummies" to learn how to play with this instrument or I need something specific?

Thanks

(@davidhodge)

Hello and welcome to the Guitar Noise forums.

And congratulations, too, on your guitalele. While you say you're not strong in music theory, you definitely show that you've got enough to make a go of playing the guitalele.

It's really going to be a matter of thinking that you're always playing with a capo on the fifth fret. Your E chord on the guitalele will indeed be the same as an A chord on the guitar, but it's going to sound different even though it's the same chord because you'll be using higher notes of the chord. It's like playing an E-shaped barre chord at the fifth fret of the regular guitar.

You simply have to learn to think of your chords as "new" on the guitalele even though they are the same shapes. If you've not already broken it down, here's how it goes:

C is now F
C# is now F#
D is now G
Eb is now Ab
E is now A
F is now Bb
F# is now B
G is now C
G# is now C#
A is now D
Bb is now Eb
B is now E