Easy Popular Songs using D, G, A

13 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
43.3 K Views
(@musicmanb)
Topic starter  

Hello,

I'm a student teacher trying to teach some basic guitar skills to an 8th grade general music class. In the very short time they spend with guitars in this curriculum, they only learn D, G, and A chords. What I need, though, is some songs that are a little more modern and popular than the ones that my supervising teacher normally uses... because her songs are totally boring the students ("You Are My Sunshine", "This Land is Your Land", and songs like that...). I'm sure they'd get a lot more into learning guitar if they actually enjoyed the songs.

Any ideas of what songs I could have them play with just those three chords? Doesn't matter if they need to be transposed... just so long as they work.

Thanks!

(@musenfreund)
Illustrious Member

That's a basic I IV V progression. You could teach them any song based on a 12 bar blues pattern and transpose it into D. Chuck Berry tunes, for example, Buddy Holly, Beatles. (Maybe play around with transposed versions of "Back in the USSR", or "Revolution". Teach them to play a B5 and you could teach them "Come Together".

Well we all shine on--like the moon and the stars and the sun.
-- John Lennon

ReplyQuote
(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

You can take any song, in G and transpose it. That opens up about 90% of all C&W songs.

As Musenfreund says, you can take just about any 12-bar blues song and transpose to D.

I started with nothing - and I've still got most of it left.
Did you know that the word "gullible" is not in any dictionary?
Greybeard's Pages
My Articles & Reviews on GN

ReplyQuote
 KR2
(@kr2)
Famed Member

Bad Moon Rising
Margaritaville
Back Home Again - John Denver

It's the rock that gives the stream its music . . . and the stream that gives the rock its roll.

ReplyQuote
(@daven)
Estimable Member

I posted Crying Time by Buck Owens to the easy song index awhile back. It's G,D,A, A7, D7