Clear all

Complete noob here

8 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@intergalactic)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hi everyone, I'm really interested in learning to play the guitar but don't know where to start. I've never played an instrument before but I really want to learn. I don't know wich guitar to buy or if buying a guitar now is the right thing to do. I want to play metal and don't really like anything else :wink: any suggestions?

(@musenfreund)
Illustrious Member

Welcome to the asylum for the musically insane.

If you want to play metal, start off with an electric. Then switch your amp over to the clean setting for a while as you learn some basics. You can add distortion later.

Check out this page when you get your guitar and gear and are ready to start:

Absolute Beginner

Have fun!

Well we all shine on--like the moon and the stars and the sun.
-- John Lennon

ReplyQuote
(@intergalactic)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Would this be a good way to start ? http://www.zzounds.com/item--BCRHGMMP

ReplyQuote
(@bstguitarist)
Reputable Member

Personaly I never thought B.C Riches had very good sound. An al arround good guitar, especially the deep tone of metal will be given with an epiphone or gibson. Though pricier, worth the look. I am not you so you can make the desicion, just remember a guitar is better than no guitar.

bstguitarist
Welcome to the forums
:lol:

No matter what anyone says, these four men were the Innovators! of modern Rock & Roll!

Morse Code... Music on it's own

ReplyQuote
 Pup
(@pup)
Estimable Member

Hey there, Metal is my gig too. always go play around with a guitar and find ones thats comfortable in your hands before you purchase.

Also, if you want to play metal you have got to get yourself a good distortion pedal. the one you want is Digatech metal master distortion pedal. i just recently got one and let me tell you, the best metal pedal i have ever stepped on, EVER[/]