Skip to content
beginner here and n...

Notifications
Clear all

beginner here and need some helpful advice..

8 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@hardcore)
Topic starter  

hi guys,
im new here and was hoping some of you fellow guitar players could help me out. I just started playing a few months ago on an ibanez 20..a beginner guitar. Anyways i was in an accident and broke 3 of my fingers on my right hand(im a lefty by the way). after going through alot of pain ad rehab i find my fingers are weaker ,i guess because of nerve damage, and they didnt corporate with me before but its even worse now. The ibanez strings just seem to close together for me plus i have a big hand. I was looking into another guitar like a washburn or yamaha. My question is what would you guys do in this situation. I really want to learn but i seem to have alot of obstacles in my way and i would like to buy a guitar that has a bigger neck(maybe where the strings are further apart so my big fingers can work better) anyways have you guys got any advice..thanks alot

(@chalkoutline)
Estimable Member

First off, welcome to Guitar Noise.

Secondly, I'm very sorry to hear about your accident.

This may seem out of left field, but since you have only played or a few months have you considered switching to playing right handed? That way the nerve damaged hand would not have to deal with fretting.

My son is a lefty but plays right handed. That means his dominant hand is fretting, which has its advantages.

Plus your selection of guitars would expand exponentially!!

Interview guy: What is the source of your feedback?
Neil Young: Volume.

ReplyQuote
(@almann1979)
Noble Member

i am a left hander - but play right handed.

i have never thought this unnatural, because to me, the hand with all the hard work, and fine motor skills, is the fretting hand, so to me i want it to be the left hand, because i am left handed. i have never felt uncomfortable this way :D