Skip to content
Any pictures of how...

Notifications
Clear all

Any pictures of how you form your barres?

18 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@dylanbarrett)
Prominent Member
Topic starter  

Hi all.

Thought I better try to learn the correct way of forming a barre chord and want to see what different angles and shapes other people's fingers form... Hey, it's not a finger fetish thing :wink: - just want to know if what I'm doing looks right ... :lol:

I realise that it may just be whatever sounds right and keep practicing... I'm working on F#Minor and B Minor - good place to start I reckon....

Thanks

D 8)

I'm nowhere near Chicago. I've got six string, 8 fingers, two thumbs, it's dark 'cos I'm wearing sunglasses - Hit it!

KR2
(@kr2)
Famed Member

I'm just a beginner so I don't know if you want to hear from me but . . .
Getting the F-chord (barre) was a major hurtle for me.

To get the pressure you need, you'll need to twist your wrist so the thumb is behind the neck (not center back but more towards the top back). When you lay your index finger across the strings, twist the index finger so the outside of the finger (thumb side) is pressed against the strings. This twist will tend to lift your other fingers. I'm not laying the finger straight across the strings. The index finger has a slight curve but all of the finger is behind the fret. Also all my other fingers are leaning towards the nut. They seem to be almost lying on the strings they are leaning so much. But hey, it works for me.
Also, your other fingers will have a tendency to slide up. Keep them close to the fret.

Strum on,
Ken

It's the rock that gives the stream its music . . . and the stream that gives the rock its roll.

ReplyQuote
(@dylanbarrett)
Prominent Member
Topic starter  

Getting the F-chord (barre) was a major hurtle for me.

I know what you mean - I want 'hurtle' something sometimes when I can't it right... :lol: