Clear all

a good tuner

26 Posts
17 Users
0 Likes
(@lamborman)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hey guys, I'm still quite new to the guitar and my digital tuner is really driving me nuts :mrgreen: .

Sometimes, it doesn't pick up on the sound from the guitar.

It only allows for standard tuning, I really want a tuner, where you can tune to any tuning you want, be it some other, popular tuning, or some whakky tuning I can think of, like every string to A flat.

Is there a tuner that is the mother of all tuners? The tuner that will tune my guitar anyway I want? What is it called and do you know where I can get from, in the UK?

:note1: :note2: :note1:

(@slejhamer)
Famed Member

Peterson strobe tuners are probably the standard; prices range from a couple hundred US$s to several thousand.

I highly recommend the Korg Pitchblack as an economical stomp-box style.

"Everybody got to elevate from the norm."

ReplyQuote
(@kent_eh)
Noble Member

Yep, if you look backstage at "guitar world" at a major concert, you will see that the pros will have a strobe tuner . Any well equipped repair shop will use one too, especially useful for setting intonation, etc. Or a professional piano tuner.

They're costly, but they are the ultimate in precision.

For us normal folks, a chromatic tuner is the one to get (as opposed to a "guitar tuner").
A guitar tuner generally only knows how to deal the 6 open string notes, while a chromatic tuner can tune any note on the staff.

I wrapped a newspaper ’round my head
So I looked like I was deep

ReplyQuote
 Ande
(@ande)
Prominent Member

Korg is a good brand for an electronic tuner. YOu should be able to pick up a Korg chromatic tuner in any music shop for 20-30 bucks, give or take.

Not as accurate as a strobe tuner. But plenty accurate for most purposes. (good enough to gig with, or play with others. And it will let you tune to any note you like. Purpose built guitar tuners, only tuning to six notes, are a waste, imo.)

Best,
Ande

ReplyQuote