Plectrum or fingers!?

10 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@shinypinkguitar)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hello, bass newbie here again!

As a new bass player who's been playing the normal guitar for a couple of years, I've been using a plectrum for playing the bass.  This seems to suit my friend's songs (who's band I'm now in!) as they are on the heavy side and require a punchy sound.  (By the way, if anyone wants to listen to any of the songs, some are on the website below in demo form  ;D - would love to know what anyone thinks!)

However, I know it would probably build my versatility as a player to do some finger picking...what's everyones opinion on this?  Are there any good exercises for strengthening my picking fingers on this or other sites?

Thanks xxxx

http://www.chinmusicrocks.co.uk

(@demoetc)
Noble Member

The Rest-Stroke is the main finger style for the bass guitar. You probably already know how to do it, but if not, it's where you place the fingertip on the string you're going to play and move the finger 'through' the string till it rests on the string below. Like classical guitar players.

Most people use the index and middle fingers in alternating strokes, but some use index, middle and ring fingers alternating. It's good for triplets and fast playing. The best way to get into it is to just do it over and over again, just playing one string to start with (perhaps the A string) so you get the feel of it, then move on to the other strings. The E string; you won't have a lower string to rest on (unless you have a fiver), but it's the same feel. The string should feel like it's slipping off the tip of your finger on each stroke.