Notifications
Clear all

Help me help my bassist!

25 Posts
14 Users
0 Likes
(@bassboy)
Topic starter  

My friend plays bass and has for about 5 or 6 months. He hasnt really learnt anything except some parts of some very easy covers. We just recently got a drummer and another guitarist. He doesnt really learn anything on his own, usually i have to show him. Ive been playing guitar for about 8 months and have showed him stuff like the bass note for a g chord. What should i show him so he can start to become a good bassist? Scales?

(@ph0nage)
Reputable Member

I had a VERY similar experience to what you describe. I had played guitar for about 6-8 months when I convinced my friend to buy a bass. He learned some tabs and we started a band.

He could read tabs, strum with one finger, and knew what knew the open pitches of the 4 strings. He never seemed inspired enough to learn scales, strum with 2-3 fingers, learn to use the pick, or just better himself on the bass.

I tried to help him out and even had my guitar teacher offer him 2 free lessons (which he didn't seem interested in doing).

What I found is that my friend did not have the desire to practice and improve. He liked the idea of being in a band, but did not have the drive that it required. He eventually quit when we learned harder songs and learned songs at a quicker pace. We now have a bass player that loves music and is willing to put in the necessary work.

Hopefully you won't have that experience. It seems that many people pick up bass because it is the "easy" instrument, thinking it won't be much work. (NOTE: I am NOT saying bass is easy or weak or anything like that - I played tuba for most of my life and respect the bass, having picked it up myself)

But my main point is that your friend has to be dedicated and want to improve - you can't do it for him

ReplyQuote
(@jwmartin)
Noble Member